WEHI is committed to fostering and rewarding outstanding achievement among its staff and students. A number of awards have been established to celebrate exceptional contributions to science, and to life at the Institute.

Burnet Prize

WEHI’s top science prize is awarded annually to early-career scientists who have produced pioneering research.

Colman Speed Honours Award

This award is presented each year to the top Honours student at WEHI.

Chris and Cheryl Thomas Award

The winners of the award recognises those who demonstrate strong leadership qualities and conrtibute to WEHI beyond their main role.

Other key awards

Kellaway Excellence awards

Recognising outstanding contributions towards the five strategic pillars of WEHI, being discovery, translation, education, engagement and sustainability.

Margaret Holmes Emerging Leader

In recognition of younger non-scientific staff who have made significant contributions to WEHI, and who have demonstrated the potential for leadership and continuing service.

Seminar Prize

Established in November 1991 with an anonymous donation, the Seminar Prize is awarded annually and recognises the best scientific seminar delivered during a calendar year.

Student Seminar Prize

Acknowledges the most outstanding presentation given by a student during a calendar year.

Art of Science Prizes

Popular and expert panel prizes awarded annually to the staff and students who have produced the most aesthetically striking scientific images in the course of their research.

An annual exhibition showcasing the amazing images created and captured by WEHI scientists.